Monroe County Immigration Society

The Monroe County Immigration Society was organized March 14, 1874, at Paris. The directors for the first year were:

Dr. E. Bailey, of Monroe

Jefferson Bridgford, of Jackson

Henry Dooley, of Jefferson

Thomas Yates, of Indian Creek

M. D. Blakey, of Clay

John Brownfield, of Marion

James Bridgford, of South Fork

R. Porter, of Union

George F. Palmer, of Woodlawn

F. B. Vaughn, of Washington township.

The first officers elected were: Dr. E. Bailey, president; R. M. Bodine, secretary, and William F. Buckner, treasurer. M. D. Blakey and Henry Dooley were appointed as an executive committee.